Mondays and the case for journaling

I kind of like Mondays.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t like waking up early. You can ask my roommate Emily about that. I hated waking up before noon-thirty unless I had class. People talking loudly in the hallway at 10:30 AM? Don’t you know others are still trying to sleep?

But in another sense, Mondays are kind of like airports. I like airports because they always give this air of possibility. It is the coolest thing to stand in the middle of a busy airport and watch people run to terminals. Are they running to the person they love? Are they running away from their problems? Are they trying to escape into a new life? Are they running towards a scary new beginning? Mondays kind of have that effect. The whole week lies ahead – where will this week go? This could be the week I wake up before 10 AM every day.

This Monday I’m awake before 10 AM (surprise!). I told my little sister that I would play some tennis this morning, and I am excited to catch up with a dear friend later. This Monday I am excited because in exactly two more Mondays I will be hopping on the plane at Phil-AX (?) and crossing the Emerald Isle.

I have packing lists to finish, clothes to organize and books to read before that can happen. I also have healthy habits to pick up before my solo venture begins.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

On me: Nordstrom jacket, J.Crew scarf 

I started journaling again last night.

I have been telling myself to restart journaling, but it felt really good to finally start. I know that this sounds cheesy, but nothing compares to hashing things out on a piece of paper. The best thing about paper? Paper is patient, understanding and non-judgmental like no human – no matter how special – can be.

I love journaling for its intimacy and ability to get everything out there. I have doubts and insecurities that I only feel comfortable sharing with myself. It is the weirdest thing to see all the things I keep in my head on paper.

Journaling was a habit I wanted to pick up again before I left. It’s something that I recommend that all of you do. There is no better way to lay out all of your hopes, dreams and ideas. I made a list last night of all the ways I hoped to grow this coming year and it was absolutely wonderful.

What’s on your list for 2017? I hope it includes picking up a nice notebook (I can help! I have an unhealthy love for stationary) and a good ballpoint pen.

The light in me honors the light in you,

Sus

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

