Cafe crawl

If they say de-Nile is a river in Egypt, then I’m drowning in it today.

I woke up in my own bed this morning. My big, fluffy bed with its redundant pillows and soft blanket – a bed in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, instead of Dublin, Ireland. I woke up late and rolled over, thinking about when I should catch the bus in order to get a pick-me-up mocha at Clement & Pekoe. I blinked a few times and it took me a couple of minutes to remember where I was. I’m not going to lie and say I wasn’t crushed. I can only dream of the next afternoon I can swirl a chocolate stick around a warm cup of coffee while watching people go by on South William St. By dream, I mean I’m slowly planning my return to Dublin to do research over fall break.

This won’t be the last time I write about Dublin.

It’s going to take me a few more days to process this past semester. I’m leaving for Chicago in only six days to start my summer internship. I’m swapping cobblestone streets with short buildings for a concrete jungle and American Zara prices.

I don’t know if I will ever stop writing about my four months in that beautiful country. Today I’m sipping sweet tea out of a giant mug (sweet tea! My whole life) and thinking back on the little cafes I fell in love with in Dublin. Going to Dublin soon and looking for a cool place to sit and sip? Look no further than Susan’s Dublin Cafe Crawl.

Stop 1: Clement and Pekoe, South William St  

Entrance_NatalieLim

Photo by Natalie Lim

IMG_5097.JPG

This was my second favorite study spot, and it was partly due to the mochas they served. They make their mochas not with chocolate syrup but with a large piece of chocolate on a stick that you swirl around in hot coffee until it melts. Their mini cakes (especially the apple one) are also very well-done.

Stop 2: KC Peaches, Nassau St  

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

If you know me at all, you know that I fell in love with the KC Peaches on Nassau St this semester. It was my favorite place to study and many a paper was written there over a cup of tea, or a medium mocha, with a slice of the multi-berry custard (GO EAT THAT CUSTARD. IT IS FANTASTIC). The food was also hard to beat if you needed a quick bite. It was wholesome and natural and healthy, and the only place you could go for a fantastic sandwich that only puts you back 5-6 euro. I had a really difficult time leaving this place, but then I have an attachment personality.

Stop 3: Queen of Tarts, Cow’s Lane 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The desserts here are to die for. The chocolate fudge cake served with homemade whipped cream is unbelievable, and I chose to go with a blueberry scone and tea on my last visit. Queen of Tarts has two locations in Temple Bar, and I frequented the larger one on Cow’s Lane. Also: there is a fantastic yoga studio right across from here, and is a real gem. It’s called Samadhi and has very reasonable rates. I loved this studio because it reminded me of my cozy, sweet studio at home in Pittsburgh.

Stop 4: Beanhive, Dawson St 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I became high-key obsessed with this place late in the semester. Their latte art is unbeatable (look at how sweet that bear is on my hazelnut hot chocolate!). I found iced tea here, which I craved more than I thought I would. I am a huge sweet tea fiend at home, and when I saw they had iced tea on their menu I nearly cried. The peach iced tea was excellent and I only had to add about 5 packets of sugar. I only wish I could have found this place earlier because their friendly staff and delicious drinks stole my heart.

Stop 5: Cake Cafe, Pleasant’s Place 

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

IMG_5261

This one is a bit off the beaten path (over past Dicey’s), and kind of located in a weird alley, but the homemade cakes here are difficult to beat. I had the Victorian sponge cake and wished I could have taken the whole thing home.

Stop 6: The Dwarf Jar, O’Connell Street 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Give me a huge mocha and a view of the river and I will be happy forever. Sarah and I also indulged in tiramisu here, and she got this fabulous wine tea that tasted like mulled wine. This is another great place to people-watch.

Stop 7: Bestseller, Dawson St

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This adorable polka-dot shop has the coziest benches for curling up with a good book. It houses the Irish Bible Society and sells interesting books and artwork by independent Irish artists. The coffee here was alright but the environment really won me over. It’s also very quiet.

Stop 8: 3FE, Grand Canal St

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I only visited this place once, but it has a special place in my heart for the second pot of tea I got on the house and the big community tables and windows that let sunshine in. I wrote an entire philosophy paper here.

And that’s a wrap! I am so lucky to have loved and lived in these cafes this semester. I’m already planning to find more mini-heavens in Chicago this summer. I promise there will be a more substantial post on my time in Dublin to come, but right now I can only daydream about big mochas and delicious cakes while binge-watching season 3 of Kimmy Schmidt (go watch it! It’s as hilarious and woke as ever!). Good thing I’ll be returning to my sweet Stray Dog yoga on Tuesday morning.

The light in me honors the light in you,
Sus
Standard

Leave a Reply

