Big days

Today I achieved bliss.

I sat at a window seat of a sweet coffee shop (Dollop Coffee Co., I highly recommend) with an iced chai tea latte, three different colored pens and my journal. One of my favorite things to do in Dublin was to sit in a cafe and watch the world go by, and I knew that wasn’t going to change in a new city.

I had a lot to think about today. Life has been super weird lately. I’ve been back in the States for a week now, and I feel like I’ve woken up from an incredible dream. Hindsight is 20/20 though – Dublin wasn’t all rainbows and craic, but now that I’m home I can only think of it that way. I have to remind myself that there were tough days and nights, times when I wished I could be back home and moments when I questioned my decision to go abroad.

I haven’t written in too much detail about my experiences abroad, and today while I was journaling I decided to set some goals for myself. Tomorrow I start my internship in Chicago at a marketing firm, and I am so excited to see what a career will be like outside of a lab.

I have a few goals  – run every day, learn to budget and save properly and write a book. Yep, that’s right. I have a lot of love for essay collections and I think the best way for me to document my time is to break it down into essays. I have always loved writing, and this is something I have always wanted to do.

Is there a better time to do it than a summer in the city? I don’t think so. I’m writing this blog post to hold myself accountable and make the promise that by August 11 I will have a collection of essays.

I’m also starting at a new yoga studio this Sunday and it looks incredible.

The light in me honors the light in you,
Sus

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

